Treaty 8 Tribal Corporation was established on May 14, 1992 by Akaitcho Chiefs: Berna Unka – Deninu Kue, Jonas Sangris – Dettah, Antoine Michel – Lutsel K’e, and Darrell Beaulieau – N’dilo.

On this day, a resolution was passed that contained three provisions:

  1. The first, was an acknowledgement that Treaty is the common foundation of all Dene Nations within Akaitcho Treaty 8 Territory.
  2. The second, is that Treaty 8 is a sacred agreement.
  3. The third, is to remind Canada and the Government of Northwest Territories (GNWT) that there was never a surrender of traditional lands and sovereign status by our Dene forefathers under Treaty 8.

The mandate of Treaty 8 Tribal Corporation is to settle with the Crown all outstanding issues in Treaty 8. Negotiations are to be based on Dene historical and oral version of the spirit and intent of Treaty 8.