Differences between Indian Act and Self-government

The intention of Akaitcho Treaty 8 negotiations is to eventually transition to self-government and management of Akaitcho Dene Title Land. Upon completion of  negotiations, each Akaitcho First Nations will self govern.

As an Akaitcho member it is important to understand the differences between how Akaitcho Dene are governed through the Indian Act (Self Administration) vs. Self-Determination (Self-Government).


For a detailed description and visual depiction of the differences, download the following document:
Transitional Governance Project (PDF)